jump to navigation

Cock-eyed view April 28, 2007

Posted by reverseengineer in Issues.
trackback

Was reading an opinion column on MacNewsWorld over my oatmeal this morning and was struck at how my fanboy-ism tends to tint my Apple glasses too rosy sometimes.

I wrote a post the other day about how nice Apple was to declare all updates and software feature additions for the iPhone for free, and how this makes Apple stand head and shoulders above all other companies. Crowding Jobs & Friends on a pedestal is really one of the weaknesses of sideline commentators like me with questionable objectivity, i.e. Macheads.

In “When it comes to spin-doctoring, Apple has a PhD” by Vern Seward in The Mac Observer, Mr. Seward observes that yeah, Apple is giving that stuff away for free, but look deeper, fanboy – all they’re actually saying is that they can’t finish the iPhone they way they planned, so they will release it on sked anyway, and just catch up later on by adding the stuff that should have been on it in the first place in future “updates”.

Spin doctors indeed.

I didn’t see the forest for the trees. Of course that makes sense! Why didn’t I see that? I’m disappointed in Jobs & Friends, but more in myself that I was so ready to ride the spin. Damned sycophantic fanboy. Hmph!

Gotta learn to look at things cock-eyed now and then, especially where Stevie’s concerned; he’s been known to pull a fast one. Or two. In the end, Vern pulls the punch a bit (I guess he’s a fanboy like me) but the points have been made. (Speaking of cock-eyed views, this shows Apple’s and Steve’s doctorate degree in spinning; Bill, try as he might, has nothing on the folks at Cupertino in this department. Apple wins again.)

It’s an excellent, incisive piece, with much more analysis and observations that make sense. Great read, and you can see it for yourself here.

Shows how much I got to learn.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

