jump to navigation

The Big Experiment Part 2: The Little Things May 13, 2007

Posted by reverseengineer in Operating System, The Big Experiment, The Other Side of the Fence.
trackback

Not Likes:

1. I am having trouble getting used to the fact that the red X button on the top right of a window shuts the app down – and not merely close the window. Dang. I unlearned it before, now I have to relearn it again.

2. Is the constant rebooting really necessary?

3. Closing the lid and letting the T43 hibernate or sleep instead of turning it off is like Russian Roulette – you never know if it’s going to screw up. Must I resort to physically turning it on and off every time? I miss just shutting the lid when I’m taking a break and then just opening it and jumping right back in without waiting and worrying.

4. The biometric finger scanning is cool, but sometimes it simply refuses to read my digits when at other times a casual swipe is all it takes. Sometimes it accepts the scan and seems to proceed, but sometimes stops and asks me to swipe a second time, as if it got suspicious and changed its mind. Duh?

5. The video output is …chunky. I’m used to the beauty, grace and clarity of OS X’s Quartz Extreme. ClearType? Pwe!

6. What’s with the constant updating? Every. Single. Day. There. Is. Something. Critical.

7. I miss the Apple Key. (Incidentally, the T43 is the one Windows laptop that does NOT have a Windows key.)

8. Sometimes I notice that the hard drive activity light flashes endlessly, even if I’m not doing anything, and the little network activity indicator flashes just as often. (No, I don’t have any background processes set up and running. I’m not a newbie; I’d know the difference.) So WTF is it constantly doing? Viruses hard at work? Nope, I’m clear, according to Windows Defender, AVG and Norton AntiVirus. Are the Microsoft gnomes playing with my data when I’m not looking, changing it around and sending it home so that the other gnomes in Redmond can have a good laugh? It’s making me paranoid. Creepy, man.

9. The trackpad of the T43 is crowned by a set of large buttons with colors (this is apart from the two large ones below it), and there is this red pencil eraser smack dab in the middle of the keyboard. Crowd me, why don’t you? I feel like I’m going to accidentally trigger WWIII with a wayward button press.

10. Sometimes doing simple things, like just dragging a file to a folder, drives the OS into a deep coma, and I face the choice of either being patient and see if it eventually slips from its funk, or just reboot the damn thing.

11. That little viper nest of a billion useless icons (I think it’s called the Taskbar?) on the lower right corner is maddeningly distracting, with all its blinking and dialog bubbles popping up constantly.

12. I miss my Dock.

13. I miss Dashboard and my beloved widgets.

14. I miss jamming the cursor into a corner and seeing my desktop clear instantly.

15. Why does it have to be “My” everything? My Network Places. My Bluetooth Places. My Computer. My Documents. My Programs... I mean, I know they’re mine, am I that insecure that I need to remind myself I own them every time I look at the screen?

16. While we’re on the topic of naming things, why is the trash can called Recycle Bin anyway? What are we recycling?

17. Just the act of installing a little piece of shareware can freeze the whole thing and turn it into an expensive paperweight. Why can’t this billion-trillion-gazillion industry fix such a small thing?

18. Microsoft will only let you update the system via web if you’re using Internet Explorer. Is that childish or what?

19. It takes forever to just unplug a USB flash drive.

20. Control Panel is a crowded, confusing, complicated jumble of potentially dangerous choices. Give me System Preferences any day.

Likes:

1. I like the games.

Comments»

1. mariquita - May 14, 2007

2. Is the constant rebooting really necessary?

::nods::

6. What’s with the constant updating? Every. Single. Day. There. Is. Something. Critical.

Thank God I gave up on this OS before its present incarnation…and even back then, getting updates was a hair-killing experience.

17. Just the act of installing a little piece of shareware can freeze the whole thing and turn it into an expensive paperweight. Why can’t this billion-trillion-gazillion industry fix such a small thing?

OH, GOD, YES! My husband has vivid memories of the times I burst into tears out of sheer frustration while trying to manage this monster. He remembers my Linux phase for the peace it brought to his household. And now that I’m a Mac user, it’s even better!

^__^


Leave a Reply

