jump to navigation

We’re moving! October 1, 2007

Posted by reverseengineer in Announcements, Meta.
trackback

Like I announced some time ago, Mac-A-Doodle is moving over to the Inquirer.net blogging network, although I didn’t say when. Well, I’m saying it now: that move is sometime today, October 1, 2007.

Later today, this WordPress blog at this URL will freeze, and commenting and posting will move over to this new URL:

http://inquirerbloggers.net/macadoodle/

Please copy it, save it, bookmark it. It’ll be up within today, and from here on in, you can get your Mac-A-Doodle noodles there.

Over there at Inquirer Bloggers, Mac-A-Doodle will still be the same old blog, with a little different look, but that’s about it. All the previous stuff has been exported there (or in the process of being), so it’s still the full, unabridged MAD. You can come back here and poke through the old stuff, but you might as well do it there anyway. Up to now it’s all been me, but maybe I’ll start asking guest bloggers to help out now and then. For variety and more refreshing points of view other than this old coot’s.

It’s an important milestone for this blog – just five-and-a-half months old, it moves into a new, bigger neighborhood. But October 1 also marks a personal milestone for me. Here’s why:

I’m pretty busy these days. I personally edit a couple of magazines directly (a monthly and a quarterly), and help out on a third one (a monthly too). Being in charge of the whole editorial department, I supervise twenty other titles in our company. I write up to twenty or more articles and columns for some of these titles as well, every month.

I also blog for several of our sites, administer a forum, and on the personal side I help moderate three others. I also have my own personal blog, which has lain fallow for the past few months precisely because I have no time to blog for it (which is one big continuing regret of mine that I still hope to fix.)

Aside from all of these I am also a Writing/Communications Consultant for a big PR firm and train their writers and evaluate and edit their work. This takes up the little time I have outside of my day job. When there is any time left at all, I try to write some fiction. Short stories, that sort of thing (Number of stories I finished this past year: zip.)

And then there’s Mac-A-Doodle.

MAD is a personal project, which I do for my own pleasure. My fanboyism needs an outlet. In the beginning I was ok, but it rapidly became inconsistent, and I wrote for it spottingly. I enjoyed it big-time-plenty, but life often got in the way.

Three months ago, ruing the fact that MAD was going the way of my personal blog – which is to say, nowhere fast – I resolved to write in Mac-A-Doodle every single day of the week. At least one post, more if possible, for at least three consecutive months. Three. Full. Months. A full quarter of a year. No matter how busy I was, no matter where I went, even if I wasn’t getting paid for it.

I wanted to prove to myself that I could put my nose to the grindstone for MAD, and keep it there and not come up for air. I didn’t think I could do it, but I was willing to try.

Whaddaya know. Today, I complete that three month goal. I did it. Not just a post a day, but often two, sometimes three, and on occasion four or five. Go back and look if you don’t believe me. Hey, I don’t believe me.

And it so happened that within this three-month jag, inquirer.net asked me to join them. I said, ok, lets make it formal on October 1, the day my three-month self-imposed struggle ends. Only it hasn’t really ended. It’s more like it’s just started. With a bigger audience, the pressure is equally bigger too. Hey, I don’t mind. I’ve found I can do it after all.

It’s just a URL/bookmark/feed change for most of you folk, but for me this change means a lot. As much as your continued patronage. Thanks for reading, doodlers. I hope you continue to doodle at the new site.

Let’s go!

Comments»

1. Jason - October 1, 2007

congratulations. if i had your focus, i would have been done with my diss-ertation a long time ago. sigh.


Leave a comment